Solano Local Food System Alliance

The Solano Local Food System Alliance includes a wide variety of stakeholders committed to fulfilling the mission of creating an environmentally sustainable, economically viable, socially just and equitable local food system in Solano County.

Interested in becoming a member of the Solano Local Food System Alliance? Read more below about the goals and benefits of being a member of the Alliance, then fill out this form.

2022 Goals

  • Building awareness of the Alliance itself & food system among key stakeholders
    • Arrange individual meetings with county supervisors and other key stakeholders, as opportunities arise
    • Do one major presentation to City-County Coordinating Council (4Cs). They need to understand where their topics intersect with the local food system and what the Alliance is working on.
    • City General Plans: Draft a list of talking points for Fairfield general plan.
  • Education for the Alliance
    • Arrange special guest speakers for each general Alliance meeting with topics relevant to local food system. These meetings are open to the public. 
    • 2022 topics
      • Feb 3 = Food rescue/food waste
      • May 5 = Regenerative agriculture (possibly meet in person, on a farm)
      • Aug 4 = TBD
      • Nov 3 = TBD
  • Development of a Charter for the Alliance
    • The Executive Committee will draft/summarize and present to the larger Alliance.
    • Benefits, responsibilities and commitments of being on the Alliance will be included.

Playlist of Educational Presentations

Long-term/Overarching benefits of the Alliance’s work

  • Improved quality of life
  • Preserving open space, ag land and supporting farmers
  • Better nutrition and health outcomes
  • Better environment and economy

Benefits of serving on the Alliance

● Networking
● Expanding knowledge
● Connection with the issues and others involved in the local food system
● Being part of the solution — working as a group to fix the local food system
● Being part of a coalition to effect systems change
● Playing a role in achieving long-term benefits

Responsibilities of serving on the Alliance

● Sharing data/knowledge/insight
● Participating in a feedback loop to bring information back to the Alliance
● Bringing what you’ve learned from the Alliance back to your organization
● Challenging the status quo, being bold
● Recruiting (especially to fill knowledge gaps on the Alliance)
● Reading and contributing to the Local Food Bites
● Attending meetings
● Persistence

Solano Local Food System Alliance Members

Learn more about each Alliance member here

Robert Burris, President and CEO, Solano Economic Development Corp.

Robin Cox, Senior Health Services Manager, Solano Public Health

Louise Dawson, Restaurant Program Manager, Northern CA SBDC Network

Noah Dove, graduate student, Mills College Lokey School of Business and Public Policy

Gail Feenstra, Director SAREP, UC ANR

Juanita M. Fleming, Program Specialist, CalFresh

John Healy, Vallejo Nutritional Services Manager, Kaiser Permanente

Mike Ioakimedes, Executive Director and CEO, Solano County Fairgrounds

Kristin Kiesel, Assistant Professor of Teaching Agricultural and Resource Economics, Agricultural & Resource Economics Dept., UC Davis

Timothy Kim, CEO and founder, Pharm Fresh

Ed King, Agricultural Commissioner, Solano County

Teri Knight, District Conservationist, USDA-NRCS

Maggie Kolk, Board of Directors, Sustainable Solano

Ben & Denise Lyons, Farmers, Lockewood Acres

Jahniah McGill, Environmental Health Supervisor, Solano County

Elizabeth Monteadora, Community Local Food Advisory Board

Lisa Murray, Marketing, Pleasants Valley Agriculture Association

Tim Murrill, Director, Solano SBDC

Lisa Núñez-Hancock, Culinary Arts Instructor

Heather Pierini, Director, Food is Free Solano

Paula Schnese, Board President, Cultivate Community Food Co-Op

Dana Sykes, Community Local Food Advisory Board

Krechona Westbrook, Community Local Food Advisory Board

Priscilla Yeaney, Assistant Agricultural Commissioner, Solano County



Solano Local Food System Alliance work is made possible by a grant from Solano County Public Health in partnership with the Yocha Dehe Wintun Nation.